Why I Want to Be Like Leslie Knope

5 Aug

I am a huge fan of re-watching my favorite shows and movies over and over and over and over again. If it’s on Netflix and it’s one of my favorite shows, chances are I just watch the entire show from start to finish then go back and watch it again. I have watched “30 Rock” and “Parks and Recreation” about 30 times, and I mean every episode of every season. I can quote every show, and I do, often. And most of the time no one knows what I’m referring to because my references are so obscure and insignificant to the shows.

The two ladies of those shows are some of my favorite women in the world, each for their own reasons. That’s probably why I have watched “Baby Mama” like a hundred times this summer, which stars both Tina Fey and Amy Poehler (and is set in the fabulous city of Philadephia). This week I have set my sights on watching the entirety of “Parks and Recreation,” a show about the Parks and Rec department of a small and legally insane city called Pawnee, Indiana. Now that I have finished watching seasons one through three again- I really can’t stress how many times I have watched this show enough. It’s a little bit unhealthy-, I realize how much I wish I was like the main character, Leslie Knope (played by Amy Poehler). Here are my five reasons I want to be like Leslie:

1. She has such an awesome job.
For two summers I got to work at a nature park, and it was and always will be my favorite job in the world. Working outside, teaching people about nature and the park, it was really fulfilling when I made the most of it. I think I would be an awesome Deputy Director of Parks and Recreation (aka Leslie Knope) because I would love to be able to work with a city’s parks and all of its fun stuff. Of course I don’t expect a real Parks and Recreation Department to be as awesome as Pawnee’s, but in that department a person still gets to work with some of the more interesting parts of government. It doesn’t hurt that she gets to work with Aziz Ansari either.

2. She is super, duper cute.
Leslie Know has the cutest style in the world. Just look at her in the picture above: gorgeous! She can totally rock the bleached blonde hair, business attire and she is literally the perfect sized woman. I think one of the reasons I love shows like “Parks and Rec” and “30 Rock” is because the stars aren’t 6’2″ and 100 pounds, they are average women making average look good.

3. She has the best attitude.
At my job (Whole Foods) people have lots of ways to lie to me to basically steal from the, either by writing down a cheaper type of food then they are buying for hand scooped items or calling organic produce conventional they are lying right to my face and slowly chipping away at their integrity. Unless they have a child around to call them out- which has happened to me several times. Leslie Knope has a child-like innocence that reminds me of the kids I see in the store. She knows what is right and what is wrong and she doesn’t try to stray from that no matter what is the case. I respect that she hasn’t been jaded by the usual corruptive elements of politics. I also love that she never, ever quits on anything, so much so that it is almost annoying. She’s just a genuinely good person that you don’t find in the world, especially in government.

Get it girl

4. She gets to turn back into Amy Poehler at the end of the day.
Amy Poehler is a badass chick. She rocks, she’s hilarious and she doesn’t care that she’s supposed to live up to these stereotypes of a “funny woman.” She does what she wants and she leaves every other comedian that spends their life trying to impress in the dirt. Tina Fey’s book, “BossyPants” (which is awesome and must be read by everyone that can read because it is awesome and if you don’t read it I hate you), explains why I love her best during her career at SNL:
Amy was in the middle of some … nonsense … and she did something vulgar as a joke. I can’t remember what it was exactly, except it was dirty and loud and ‘unladylike.’

Jimmy Fallon, who was arguably the star of the show at the time, turned to her and in a faux-squeamish voice said, ‘Stop that! It’s not cute! I don’t like it.’

Amy dropped what she was doing, went black in the eyes for a second and wheeled around on him. ‘I don’t fucking care if you like it.’ Jimmy was visibly startled. Amy went right back to enjoying her ridiculous bit. (I should make it clear that Jimmy and Amy are very good friends and there was never any real beef between them. Insert penis joke here.)

Gotta love a (non-hipster) man in plaid

5. She gets to date Ben Wyatt.
Adam Scott is a very attractive man, but he is at his sexiest when he plays Ben Wyatt and makes out with Leslie on “Parks and Rec.” I love his attitude and the way he dresses drives me bonkers. Before posting this I was fully prepared to explain what I love about Ben Wyatt but now that it is upon me to provide my explanation I can’t. All I can say is watch him. He is undeniably hot without trying to be hot. I have gotten caught trying to dress Alex like Ben Wyatt way too many times for me to count… I did get him into skinny ties though. I’m one step closer to becoming Leslie, now I just have to bleach my hair…

Maybe not.

One Response to “Why I Want to Be Like Leslie Knope”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Good, the Bad, the Emmy’s « Erica Takes Over the World - September 20, 2011

    [...] love Amy Poehler. It’s pretty obvious from my big long rambling post declaring my love to her that I love Amy Poehler. That’s why it breaks my heart to say that [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

