Job Hunting Monday!

25 Jul

So today is one of my (many) days off- only being allowed to work part-time at my job gives me this wonderfully boring luxury- so I spend it as I usually do: job-hunting.

What is a day of job hunting for me look like? Well I wake up around 11 a.m. because I love sleeping more than anything. It’s something I’m very passionate about. I shower and put on some of my dressier attire, get all made up and what not, and head downstairs.

The next several hours are spent on the phone, on Careerbuilder.com and Monster.com and constantly refreshing my e-mails waiting for some sort of reply. Throw a lunch in the middle somewhere, along with the occasional drive into town to fill out some applications in person, and there you have it.

On a day like today I will average about 30 applications a day. With four days of applications a week, some less than others, I probably apply to about 85 jobs a week. So far I have gotten… 5 calls back.

What goes through my head at night? It’s not what wondering why I’m not good enough, that’s for sure. I’m good enough, I’m smart enough… and gosh darnit people like me! But seriously, I can confidently say that I would make a prime candidate for any job that I have applied for. If someone were to just meet me for an interview I know that I could get any job I could want. Not a doubt in my mind.

What I do think about is my future. If I’m being honest with myself I still have no idea what I want to do. I graduated with a journalism degree and I now know that I am not that interested in being a journalist. I have a lot to think about. I want to begin to build a great future for myself but I can’t even figure out where that will start.

I hate Mondays.

Leave a Reply

