Reunited and it feels so good…

25 Jul

Two years ago I decided to study abroad in London at Kingston University for a semester. I didn’t have a ton of money, I was completely terrified of being alone and I was almost entirely unprepared but I made the plunge anyway, and it turned out to be one of the best decisions I had ever made.

It was so hard to choose just one picture!

The friends I had made while studying abroad are still some of the most important and influential people in my life. Being thrown into a country with 50 other Americans just as confused and scared as you are creates a bond, kind of like a family. When one of us were hurting or upset, the rest of us were there to fix whatever was going on. I’m usually not this sappy and emotional, but I can’t quite explain how much my study abroad trip shaped me into who I am today, and I have my awesome friends to thank for that.

So anyway, I haven’t seen any of my Kingston friends in two years. It’s pretty much unacceptable, seeing as some of my closest friends live as close as New York City, but college and schedules and still paying off debts from one too many London shopping trips always left us promising to meet up later. Finally, finally I got to see two of my absolute best friends in the whole world, Shana and Lizz. And I can say ‘whole world’ pretty seriously since I have literally travelled the world, so suck it.

Shana (left), Lizz (middle) and me in Florence, Italy, 2009

Shana and Lizz traveled all over Greece and Italy with me for a month, and Shana and I had way too much fun (and a little too much beer) on a trip to Scotland. They were also my constant dinner, shopping and studying companions. All day and night I knew that if I needed someone I would always have those two remarkable people to call and bitch to. They are some of the first friends that I could be completely weird, goofy and ridiculously embarrassing around, but, more importantly, they are also people that would accept me when I didn’t feel like my usual crazy self. 

... and in Philly, 2011!

Not having them around for the last two years totally blorfed, especially knowing that we actually lived so close by. So getting to see them this weekend was like Christmas and the 50% off sale at Lucky Brand combined. It was also totally kickin’ to have them come to Philly (especially since Shana has never been here), my wonderful city. We went out to some bars at night, walked around, saw some sights headed to Love Park for a swim since it was ridonculously hot out and just caught up on life. It felt like we have never been apart.

Here I am, with a crummy part-time job at a grocery store, no car, no money, no prospects, living at home. It’s pretty easy to lose hope with life as its going on around me. Then I get to see these two awesome people, both of whom are such important influences in my life, and things get a little brighter. I guess that cliche is right: simple things in life are what matters.

Leave a Reply

