My newest endeavor

26 Jul

Trying to find my “career” has been one big brain ache. There are a ton of things I like to do and several things I consider myself good at, but there aren’t a ton of places that are willing to give people like me a try. You know, kids with more passion than experience. We’re in a recession, blah blah blah.

2006: I feel like I've matured beyond retail... An pictures like this.

Instead of trying to jump into a career that I don’t have adequate experience in I have decided to try and look into places that I do have experience with. I have a ton of experience working in retail, I mean I’ve been doing that since I was fourteen-years-old. One problem with that…

Retails sucks.

Retail should be renamed reterrible. Blerg! I really can’t stand it. There are so many reasons why, but in a nutshell I would rather spend a long weekend at a health insurance convention in Possum Trot, Kentucky (real city) with Voldemort and Nagini, and to cut costs we’d all share a double bed without working air conditioning at a Days Inn, than to spend the rest of my life working in retail.

My other option would, of course be journalism, and we all know how well that path is going. If you have been living under a rock and have not witnessed the fall of journalism and reading in general let me share this lovely story with you:

While applying to jobs in college I got hired at a Nordstrom Rack. At one of my endless series of orientations I met a guy who was a sports journalists for the Courier Post in South Jersey. Of course I started telling him how my handsome, charming boyfriend is a sports writer and was looking for a job and asked him how we could go about applying for positions there. The guy started laughing in one of those sarcastic, obnoxious ways and said “I’m at a job interview to fold shirts for a living. Do you think I’m going to be able to help you get a job?”

So with little hope and still very little idea of what I want to do with my life, I looked at my one other hunk of experience: teaching. I have actually done quite a lot of teaching, at summer camps and at the nature park I used to intern at. I just never thought to make it a career path because… I hated school so much. Plus I always thought about my life turning into this glamorous show, with awards and celebrity and all that. Now that I’m a grownup and have realized that I’m not as cool as I thought I was a few years ago, I’m starting to see education as something I would be really good at and could even enjoy. It’s always changing: the curriculum, the students, it all changes day by day. Plus, I would have the chance to be someone who could actually make a difference in the world, not just another cashier at Whole Foods.

I decided to do some snooping around town for substitute teaching positions and I turned up some leads! As of now my general plan is to apply for my substitute teaching license, and then go from there. I had one of the Superintendents I spoke to today even give me some direction on how to obtain an actual teaching license.

The thing is I am a pretty big flip-flopper. I changed my major two… maybe three? times while at college and now look at me. Needless to say I’m fairly skeptical of myself. But- for the first time ever- this is something my parents could see me doing and this is something I could definitely see myself doing. I guess the first step is all I can do for now, and I’ll see where that leads me!

Leave a Reply

