Try this on: Nail polish

28 Jul

About a week ago I was talking to someone about nail polishes. I never wear nail polish because by the end of a day it is all chipped and mangy-looking. The friend I was talking to said that they were going to start buying a more expensive brand, like OPI, because it was necessary. I completely agreed with her, and decided to take a gift card I got for my birthday and go pick some nail polishes up that would finally last.

The problem with me is that I am very, very cheap. So I headed into Target thinking about walking out with a bunch of new, ritzy colors and ended up doing what I usually do: standing in the middle of an aisle with my jaw on the floor yelling “NINE DOLLARS FOR NAIL POLISH!?” to nobody.

I decided, instead, to pick a bunch of colors that were popular right now in the cheapest brand I could find, and just switching them with the seasons. That brand was NYC, New York Color. I bought a couple different colors, including the one on the right, “Battery Park Purple,” (how clever, they’re all named after places in New York City!) and headed home, only dropping about six bucks on three colors and feeling much better after soothing my cheap urges.

I already knew what to expect, when I put my first color, Prospect Park Pink (there it is again!), on: chipping, smearing and just plain looking awful. But it completely took me by surprise. First of all, NYC isn’t kidding when they say that it dries in a minute. After two coats, from applying to drying it only took about ten minutes to finish. And I am not messing around when I say that this stuff lasts. Long enough for me to bother writing a post about it! After five days with it on there wasn’t a single chip, until I got nervous or something and picked it all off.

My skepticism still got the best of me, because I hadn’t put it to the ultimate test:

A full shift at Whole Foods.

Bagging, throwing things around, digging through change… it’s a fingernail’s nightmare. So I put on the purple last night, went to work, and the results…

Not a single change! Ignore that one part at my cuticle on my middle finger, I just forgot to push them back before I painted them. Seriously, my nails are perfect still. It’s like I just painted them.

I’m telling you: go out and try this stuff. It’s cheap enough and they have some really awesome colors. I’m thinking of going out and buying more this week!

Leave a Reply

