The rejection game

30 Jul

Any of my friends could tell you that I was the worst single person ever. I was an abomination to single-dom. Mainly because I didn’t understand the whole concept of picking up guys. I didn’t like most guys for some reason or another, and the other ones played the whole phone number waiting game that was just plain ridiculous.

The fact is I’ve never been good at waiting for calls. And now, those calls are- or should I say aren’t- coming from jobs, not unattractive boys in bars. I go to an interview, think I did a great job, start imagining what I would say when I call up and quit my cashier job, and then sit around and wait for the grand call saying “Erica! Please, please come work for our lustrous company! Oh please! We’ll pay you anything, everything you could want! You want rubies!? You’ve got rubies!” Then I tell my parents how great everything went and how I should be starting in a week or so…

And then I wait.

And wait.

And stare at the phone and wait some more.

Trying to leave the phone alone.

I wait and wait for a call from people who, days before, said I was a prime candidate and everything they were looking for. I consider what I will say when I call them and tell them that I have been waiting for a response. And then, like the crazy stalker girl, I call them:

“I was just seeing how my interview went and if I should blah, blah, blah,” when I know they aren’t interested and I’m just embarrassing myself. No one’s calling me back.

This exact situation happened to me with Lucky Brand Jeans the other day. Everything couldn’t have gone better. I wore this bangin’ outfit to the store and my hair looked great. I left my phone and wallet in the car, and I was early. The interview itself, which was originally a group interview until no one but me showed up, was absolutely perfect. They said they would meet my price expectations and that I should expect a call from the district manager within the week. Then… no call.

I waited almost a week before my crazy got the best of me and I called the store. I stammered out how excited I was to get working and get my next interview, and the woman I interviewed with told me she was just getting around to checking my references. I hung up, satisfied, until I realized one thing:

They didn’t ask for references.

So here I am, looking like a total tool again, desperate enough for a part-time job that I would humiliate myself like that. I could get over not hearing back from some dude, but this waiting game I play with jobs is just the worst. I know I shouldn’t let it bother me: I have been working hard since I was 14-years-old and I know the outlines of what it takes to do well. I have a great list of references and any company would be lucky to have me. In fact, I have gotten two job offers in the last 2 months that I have turned down. But, somehow every time I miss out on another job offer I get bothered. Even if its as small as a job folding jeans for rich middle-aged moms trying to look young.

I don’t actually know how to get over the rejection game. In my mind the only way to get over it is to not get rejected. Hopefully, soon I’ll actually have a job offer and a subsequent job that will mean I don’t have to worry about this crap anymore.

Leave a Reply

