Blah… Work…

2 Aug

I hate this time of the night, when I just lie around thinking ‘ugh, I have work in the morning.’

Another shift of standing still, bagging grocery after grocery. Smiling at customers, putting up with 20-something supervisors with seriously sickening God-Complexes. It feels like a nightmare.

After such a great interview for a substitute teaching position at my old school district it is almost painful to know that I have to go back to bagging groceries until any other alternative starts up.

The idea of substitute teaching is really exciting to me. Dressing up, getting involved in an actual career-based position. It’s such a thrill that I just want to never show up to Whole Foods again. But here I am again, sitting around getting ready to wake up to another 7-hour shift of the same old crap.

Lately it seems like those seven hours just drag on longer and longer. I know I’m not meant to be at a store anymore and I think that’s why it drives me crazy. But I have to save up some more cash and wait out until I can jump into my sub job full time.

I’m also nervous that I won’t be happy as a sub, or in the idea of being a teacher anymore. I’m so worried that I’ll have a change of heart like I tend to do with almost everything. Once I get into something I seem to lose interest quickly.

I don’t know how people settle into a career they love at a young age. I don’t even know if I’ll be able to find one I’m happy at! I guess that’s the good thing about Whole Foods: I don’t have to be a brain surgeon to figure out how to put grapes in a bag. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see where life takes me!

One Response to “Blah… Work…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Try This! And Wake the Hell Up! « Erica Takes Over the World - August 3, 2011

    […] if you couldn’t tell by yesterday’s post, I wasn’t thrilled to be heading to work today. It did not get better when I got there: […]

Leave a Reply

