The London Riots

9 Aug

Riots in one of my favorite parts of London: Camden

In the last few days my favorite city in the world, my home away from home, London has turned into total chaos, as rioters have come in and began slowly destroying the city. In the last 24 hours the London police have stepped up their game, but copycat riots have spread into other areas in greater London and things are getting crazier more terrifying.

The news has made it clear as to what is happening over there, so there’s not much more need for me to explain more. I am just beyond appalled at how petty and maniacal people can be when in pushed in a crowd. There’s a million reasons that the news circuits and tabloid sites have come up with behind what is going on: recession, racial tension, some apparent police brutality, all of this stuff that I don’t believe. I believe that a crowd mentality influenced a bunch of young idiots looking to steal and be obnoxious to do exactly that… steal and be obnoxious. The issues that are apparently the cause of this won’t be solved by looting stores and burning buildings down, and it certainly won’t be solved by a bunch of kids that can’t support themselves.

I love London so much, and I hate to see it taken over by a mass of angry idiots. Knowing that children are being influenced by this event is even worse. I just want a safe and fast end to this so my wonderful city can go back to being as beautiful as it always has been.

Leave a Reply

