Previous Post

17 Aug

Last Sunday I was sitting here, excited to start my job at Lucky and quit Whole Foods…

And here I am, two days later, completely and totally in a different mind-set.

I didn’t really understand why I was so confused and bothered about switching jobs. I mean I’ve done it a lot before and I really like Lucky Brand as a store but I was terrified. Then I got there and I realized: me settling into another retail job just meant that I was becoming more and more reliant on these jobs that I don’t want as my future. If I kept taking these jobs so seriously I would never have the future I want to have.

After my first day of sitting at a desk in Lucky Brand watching orientation videos I realized that I needed to stick with Whole Foods. I know Whole Foods inside and out, and it will motivate me to become more serious about looking for the real thing.

Even though I made this decision I wasn’t happy about it. I don’t want to be jumping between part-time retail jobs. This shouldn’t be the decision I’m making. Yeah, I was bummed out bad. But then, I was woken up to a call from my substitute teaching position! I had been hired on as a job coach, where I teach special needs students jobs in local stores and businesses. It’s an actual job offer from September-June. A real job!

It’s amazing how quickly life and just totally flip over and brighten up so quickly. It really is. Every time I feel like I’m at the end of my rope something comes along and tells me to keep on going. So here I go I guess.

Leave a Reply

