Try This: My little splurge

3 Sep

The Whole Body section of Whole Foods is a financial minefield: incense, perfume, jewelry, all those things that are really overpriced but totally addicting. I have done a really good job at avoiding temptation in that area, but today I gave in.

Once a month the store gets a new shipment of shirts or clothing in, and today was that particular day. It also happened to be pay day. Whomp. We got these great new cowl neck tops in from Threads For Thought, that were super comfy and in a bunch of great colors. The problem? They were $34 dollars. Of course my first instinct is to calculate how much it would cost after my discount, then as usual I stepped aside and thought: well, if it’s meant to be it’s meant to be. I went through my shift did all the smiling and nodding and whatever that I usually do and went to leave. As I  was going to leave I saw some other cashiers with those shirts on hold behind the customer service desk, only to find out that they were almost completely sold out. So of course I did the most logical thing I could think of: sprint to the rack and buy the first color in my size I could find, which was actually a really nice lavender color.

I got home, slowly getting more and more ticked at myself for buying a 30-something dollar shirt and ran to try it on, but not before sneaking it by my dad and brothers to avoid explaining my stupid decisions. Let me tell you: I friggin love this shirt. It looks great, its totally interesting and insanely comfortable. Plus I can totally be a portentous hippie if I ever get a compliment on it: “Oh this? Yeaaaaah I got it at Whole Foods. It’s organic. Plus the company donates money to charities. Oh, how much did it cost? Oh well more than what you’re wearing, but it’s okay, it’s orgaaanic.”

The Threads for Thought site is actually a pretty great website. While some things, like my shirt, are a little bit absurdly priced, they have sweatshirts and sweatpants and some t-shirts and even hats for pretty reasonable prices. And since they are all really good fabric you can be sure that they are super comfortable.

I decided that this is going to be my little splurge and that I’m not going to think about the price. I rarely find a shirt on the rack that looks as good as this without trying it on and I have nothing in this awesome purple color. I mean, check out that mean cowl neck. Rawr. It’s getting me even more psyched for fall.

Now I’m going to have to get new skinny jeans and jewelry and maybe I’ll start blow drying my hair more often and actually do my makeup really well, not just mascara eyeliner and bronzer like usual. See, one little splurge can make a difference in my life!

Leave a Reply

