My Favorite Things of the Season

27 Oct

Ahhhhhhhhhh…

Fall is here!!

I cannot hype up the fall season enough. First of all, just look outside (unless it’s the night time, then just Google “autumn afternoon” or something). It is so unbelievably beautiful. I have always wanted to get married the second to last weekend in October, just when it’s the perfect temperature and the leaves have changed to their maximum color potential… I haven’t thought this out at all.

With autumn comes with a whole world of new food opportunities. There really isn’t any other time with so many seasonal flavors that tie in so perfectly with the way the world is reacting outside. Here are just a few of my favorite fall treats!

Punkin Ale

I have been waiting to try Dogfish Head’s Punkin Ale for two years. After several days of hunting, Alex and I loaded up on two cases of the stuff.
If you are 21 and have the opportunity, run as fast as you physically can to the nearest liquor store and get Punkin Ale. It is so perfectly delicious and tastes so wonderfully seasonal I couldn’t even believe it. It has this deep pumpkin color and it smells absolutely unbelievable, like cinnamon and pumpkin pie and falling leaves and everything you would picture on a Thanksgiving Hallmark card.

The beer has a sweetness to it, but nothing so unappealing that it loses its beer taste. I’m no connoisseur, but I could taste all of the ingredients that they listed on the front of the bottle individually at some point.

I’m a really slow drinker when it comes to specialty beers, and that usually hurts the finale for me. For all those recent college grads that spent the last four years drinking warm cups of Natty Ice, you ill be just as shocked as I am when you drink this beer warm. I think it actually enhances the flavor when it’s a little warm.

This weekend, settle down at home, cook a really nice, warm, seasonal meal, curl up with a blanket and a Punkin Ale and watch a Halloween movie. I’m telling you, you will not be disappointed.

Apple Cider

As a fan of celebrating all seasons in excess, I like doing anything and everything to get others into the spirit as well.  A couple of weeks ago I made my wonderful boyfriend, Alex, buy me apple cider, which we warmed up on the stove while making apple pie… overboard? I think not. Besides, it made the whole house smell amazing.

When the season ends I spend a lot of time searching the juice aisles for apple cider, and am usually let down. That’s why I am stocking up on apple cider K-cups from Green Mountain Coffee for the rest of the year. I’ve never had them, but Green Mountain makes some blergtastic coffee and I’m assuming these are just as good as the others. Plus I can use them to make this awesome mixed drink my room mates and I made for Halloween last year: Apple cider, Spiced Rum and Sparkling Water… Happy fall, happy fall indeed.

Oktober-foods

Yeah, sure, Oktoberfest is actually in September. And yeah, sure, I live in New Jersey, which is nowhere near Germany which is where Oktoberfest is actually held. That doesn’t mean I can’t celebrate it.

Luckily for me there are a million places around the area that have Oktoberfest menus and specials that appeal to the Kraut in my soul. Iron Hill Brewery, for example, offers Oktoberfest eggrolls, stuffed with bratwurst, sauerkraut and cheese and served with mustards. So. Good.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee

With my new job requiring me to wake up a horribly cruel 8 a.m. I have become a coffee person. I like a little bit of sweet, and it usually needs some sort of flavor in the bean. My go-to is French Vanilla, but seeing as it is the fall, I have switched my sites toward Pumpkin Spice coffee.

I went for a latte at first, but in the morning when any amount of work or emotions is too difficult to face, I can’t take super sweet. Plus they are an insane amount of calories and I’m trying to avoid diabetes with my morning drink.

My new standard in the morning is Wawa’s pumpkin spice blend, mainly because I’m from South Jersey and Wawa’s consume my entire being. Try it with hazelnut creamer to add a little extra flavor.

Halloween Candy

Come on, this is a give-in. Stores are stocked full of ridiculous amounts of candy and it taunts me all day long.

Alex and I decided to grab ourselves some sweets the other day. Alex is a general sweet and sour guy: SweetTarts, Nerds, Swedish Fish, you know how it is. I’ve always been a chocolate fan, but I decided to mix it up with something seasonal, which is why I chose Caramel Apple Pops from Tootsie Rolls.

Now for someone like me who just got my first filling ever a few weeks ago a green apple lollipop covered in caramel might have been a bad choice, but they are really, really good. They weren’t what I expected, but they are definitely a good way to celebrate Halloween.

Leave a Reply

