Cutest Book Ever

24 Jan

I’ve never been much of a girly girl.

Let me rephrase that: I am girly, but when around my female friends I somehow end up being extremely non-girly. That never seemed to be a problem when surrounded by my infinite number of gay friends in high school (oh yeah, I was the epitome of a teenage Grace Adler. I absolutely loved it, and my date and I looked awesome at prom, so there.), but now my conversations have switched from fashion and hunky celebs to finding out if Bryzgalov of Bobrovsky is in goal tonight. So, yeah, I’ve steered more towards the tomboy style in my later years, but I still love a lot of girly stuff. Fashion, shopping, adorable anything and Mindy Kaling’s book.

“Is Everyone Hanging out Without Me? And Other Concerns” is a genuinely cute and funny book. Written by The Office’s Mindly Kaling (comedy writer who also plays ultimate girly-girl Kelly Kapoor on the show), it is basically a collection of essays about her life and personal beliefs and memories. Sounds heavy huh? It’s actually not, it’s just adorable. It’s a series of thoughts and stories that are so embarrassingly true to every girl’s own personal life, the things you were always kind of nervous to say out loud but were always thinking.

My favorite part? Definitely her chapter on love and weddings. It was just the moment for me that showed how much sense and how much heart she really had. In it she says:

“In real life, shouldn’t a wedding be an awesome party you throw with your great pal, in the presence of a bunch of your other friends? A great day, for sure, but not the beginning and certainly not the end of your friendship with a person you can’t wait to talk about gardening with for the next forty years.”

You. Go. Girl. Everything I’ve ever felt about love and marriage summed up into one neat mini-paragraph. Yeah, I got choked up when I read that for the first time, so what?

This book ends up putting you into a scene, giving you the general feeling that you’re sitting around on a big comfy (probably pink) couch with Mindy, wearing sweatpants, drinking wine and just dishing about life. Which is great because she seems like an all-around fabulous girl and the exact person I would want to force my girly side out. Homegirl’s got spunk, and she rocks it.

P.S. Mindy, if you happen to read this, it actually took me a little more than 2 months to read your book. Yes, I know there is something wrong with that, but I had a lot of episodes of “Bridezillas” to catch up on in between.

2 Responses to “Cutest Book Ever”

  1. Stephanie January 24, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    Awesome review! And now I definitely want to read this book.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tall, Dark & Dead and other books I’ve added recently « Misprinted Pages - January 30, 2012

    […] Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindly Kaling via Erica Takes Over the World […]

Leave a Reply

