A Message to College Girls, from a Girl that’s Been There

2 Feb

As a recent college grad, I have been looking back on my days at school and I have come to a realization: I lived those four years well. However, I didn’t walk into college on day one and party until graduation day. My first semester of college was filled with a lot of uneasiness, weekend trips home, and desperate attempts to fit in. But through that I somehow found a really amazing group of friends, including my awesome boyfriend, and I ended up without any regrets.

So I thought I might share a few solid life lessons I gained during my time at college for the other amazing ladies out there in college or about to head off to school, lessons that carried me through my education with astounding success. They’re short, they’re sweet and they’re guaranteed to keep you happy.

1. Ditch the ducky face
You know what ducky face I’m talking about, ladies. Every girl has a picture with a bunch of other girls all making that weird “kissy” thing with their lips. People make fun of the duck face for a reason, because it looks weird! I know you’re trying to look cute, but you’re cute enough without making some twisted face. Just smile, it’s worked for the last few generations!

2. Keep the photos off Facebook
All of your professors tell you this, your parents say it, your RA, pretty much everyone of authority tells you to keep your party pictures off of social media, and it’s with good reason. Come on, girls. You are future educators, nurses, doctors, lawyers (and in my case, underpaid journalists that accept freelancing work… winky face). One day I will be turning to you to teach my children and heal my wounds. Do you know how terrifying it is to see you drinking out of a sack of Franzia in the middle of a Tuesday afternoon!? Facebook is full of people who only know each other based on what is posted online, and as much as it stinks to admit it, those people will judge you based on how you behave on your profile page. Make them jealous of your accomplishments, not your alcohol intake.

3. Avoid boys who think it is acceptable to wear lacrosse jerseys as every day clothing
This same rule applies to boys in neon, those who wear shorts past mid-October and guys who wear “Family Guy” t-shirts. You are a woman on the path of higher education. You need a man, not boy, and I guarantee that these poorly-dressed creatures will end up being a disappointment in the long run. You can only watch a guy play Halo and drink Natty Light so much.

4. Wear UGGs and North Faces… as much as possible
They are crazy comfortable, and once out of college you can’t take advantage of them as much as you once could. These two staples of college wear aren’t really acceptable in the workplace. I mean, let’s face it, they don’t really match a suit. I know that UGGs and North Faces are a typical “college girl stereotype,” but they look cute and they really are the most comfortable things you can rock.

5. Throw a party for every possible occasion
Halloween, the Super Bowl, Thursday night television, passing a hard test… these are all acceptable occasions to get as many friends as possible together to eat good food and make some drinks. When you graduate you will no longer have your best friends living 10 feet away, or down the hall, or in the house next door. Take advantage of being overly accessible, and celebrate having it all!

6. Try not to live up to college stereotypes
When I got to college I expected to see kegs flying out of windows, a new crazy party every night, and all that scandalous insanity that you see in any modern “National Lampoon” movie. Needless to say, I was pretty bummed when my first week at school didn’t match that. Now looking back I can say that some of my best memories of college are sitting on the couch with my room mates and a bottle of wine watching “Barefoot Contessa.” Make your college experience exactly that: your experience. Find people that like the same things you like, stay in on the occasional weekend, and don’t pressure yourself to have too much fun. You’ll miss out on what’s right in front of you.

Leave a Reply

