Getting into the spirit of February

5 Feb

I love February. Yeah, I’m that girl that wears mostly all-pink on Valentine’s Day, spends Super Bowl weekend picking out beers and baking appetizers, and secretly stresses out when Puxatony Phil announces that there will be 6 more weeks of winter. Plus, February means spring is on its way and what’s better than that? I just love February.

I’m a holiday freak. Any chance to get festive and I jump all over it. It doesn’t matter how you’re spending the day, holidays are always the opportunity to make a regular day extraordinary! I love using the days leading up to a holiday to get into the spirit, so I’ve compiled a list of my favorite movies, television shows and music to get you in the mood!

Films

Groundhog Day
This is a hilarious movie. First of all, I’m a giant Bill Murray fan, but who isn’t? Basically, this movie is about a jerky weatherman (Murray) who gets stuck reliving Groundhog Day over and over again until he figures out how to really appreciate the life he’s got. It’s not just a February movie, but Murray’s groundhog hostage scene is very fitting for the start of the month.

Rudy
Come on, it’s Rudy for Pete’s sake. What better way to feel motivated and get in the Super Bowl spirit than to watch the most classic football movie of all time? I used to hate Rudy, because every time we had a substitute teacher in any class ever that was the movie they played, but as I’ve gotten older I can’t help but respect that little guy.

Invincible
Philadelphia Eagles football movie. ‘Nuff said.

Cuties

He’s Just Not that Into You
I love this movie, because while single and in England on Valentine’s Day my best ladies and I got together in a theatre packed with other single ladies to watching the adorably Justin Long and Ginnifer Goodwin’s relationship bloom from nothing. It’s such a fantastic memory of my own lovely Galentine’s Day weekend. Plus,  I can’t help but love that the cheaters get the shaft at the end of the movie. Vengeance.

Valentine’s Day
Title pretty much speaks for itself in this instance. Favorite scene? Without a doubt, hands down, when Julia Roberts’ character – a soldier stationed overseas- gets the chance to surprise her son while he’s sleeping on Valentine’s night. If you want to see me go from sane person to blubbering, insane baby-woman in less than 2 seconds, show me this clip. Oh my gosh I’m getting choked up thinking about it.

Television

The League, Season 2 Episode 12, “Kegal the Elf”
Okay, The League is about Fantasy Football, and it doesn’t actually involve the Super Bowl, but it is such a good show. The end of every season wraps up who won the Shiva, or who won the cast’s fantasy league, and who won the Sacko, or placed last overall. The characters are nuts, and while this isn’t the end of the season, it marks the unfortunate end of Kevin, the league commissioner’s, very hopeful season. I don’t want to give too much away- even though I just did- and it is on Netflix, so stop by and watch.

30 Rock, Season 4 Episode 13 “Anna Howard Shaw Day”
Not only is 30 Rock the world’s most perfect show, but of course Valentine’s Day is celebrated perfectly: in a giant blur of insanity. Liz Lemon decides to go avoid Valentine’s Day by getting oral surgery and spending the day in a drug-induced haze. Unfortunately, oral surgery also comes with finding a date to pick her up from the procedure, so she revisits all her old, insane ex-boyfriends, like Dennis the Beeper King, to find her really weird date. I couldn’t have asked for a better way to celebrate Valentine’s Day than with Liz Lemon and her weird problems.

Parks and Rec, Season 2 Episode 16 “Galentine’s Day”

"It's like the Lilith Fair minus the angst... plus frittatas."

First of all, Leslie Knope looks adorable in her Valentine’s Day dress, as she does in every outfit she wears, and this is the episode where Andy and April’s love begins to blossom! I also love Leslie’s invention of Galentine’s Day, AKA a brunch on Valentine’s Day to celebrate all the ladies in her life. I wish my girls lived close enough to arrange a brunch on a Tuesday morning!

It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Season 3 Episode 2, “The Gang Gets Invincible”
And we go back to “Invincible.” The gang tries to get on the Eagles when they are holding a public tryout, just like the movie. This is the first time Green Man comes into play, you know the bright green, skin-tight jumpsuit you see drunk guys wearing at sports games. You can safely assume that the tryouts don’t go well for anyone, and it’s totally hilarious.

Music

Knock Knock, Mac Miller
Great song, also the jam the Flyers listen to after a win (as seen on 24/7). One of my favorites right now, and definitely Super Bowl appropriate.

The Luckiest, Ben Folds
Before I was in a relationship, this song made me want to be in love. When I was in a relationship, this song made me realize just how in love I was. If you love love, this song will make you melt into a warm puddle of happiness. This is a song that I am actually thankful for, because it helped put so much of how I felt into actual words.

I’m Yours, Jason Mraz
A quietly cute, subtly romantic and perfect way to end a Valentine’s Day date. It’s one of my favorite songs in the whole world.

And finally…

The Super Bowl Shuffle, The Chicago Bears circa 1985
There is nothing else I have to say about this that is not expressed beautifully in this video…

One Response to “Getting into the spirit of February”

  1. Lauren February 5, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    Great post! These movies are perfect for February.

Leave a Reply

