My Funny Valentine

14 Feb

I spent 19 years of my life Valentine-less. Four of those were spent working at Rite Aid, watching all the guys line up to buy their last-minute cards (oh, men of the world, you’re so adorable goofy), one eating really unhealthy food in the Rowan University cafeteria with my friend Josh, one in London on a dinner date with my study abroad BFF Sara and movies and drinks with my other wonderful London ladies. The other 13 years largely consisted of brown paper bags decorated with hearts and packed full of themed Valentine cards from classmates… and themed turtlenecks.

The last three years I have had a Valentine, but he’s not just my Valentine. He’s my best friend, my partner, and the man I never knew existed but always secretly wished did. He’s the guy I unknowingly compared all other guys to, and the guy I hoped all other guys would be (before I met him, of course!). He embraces my weirdness, and gets my quirks. He doesn’t try to change me or make me something else, and I would never ever want anything but the exact person he is.

So Happy Valentine’s Day to my Valentine, Alex. I am the luckiest.

Leave a Reply

