Yeah I LOVE Valentine’s Day, So What!?

14 Feb

Hey guess what world!? While you’re busy writing angry Facebook statuses about Hallmark scams and blah blah blah I’m off enjoying a holiday that’s cute, fun and totally harmless. Yeah I’m wearing pink! I’m also wearing red, and I painted my nails pink for the occasion. So what!? Yeah, I gushed over the box of flowers my boyfriend delivered to my office, while the anti-V-Day grumps moaned about it, so what!? And you bet your butt I’m going to eat at least one heart-shaped thing, watch at least one romantic movie today and send Valentine’s Day e-cards to at least five friends today.

I’m just tired of how cool it is to be anti-holiday nowadays! What is so wrong with dressing a little cuter than usual and being festive? I personally believe all of my friends and associates are far too young to be such curmudgeons about a holiday as painless as Valentine’s Day. I was single for 19 years, so I can understand the slight sting that comes with that, but you can still make it a fun day to celebrate the loves of your life, be it your best friend, your parents, your dog, Biggie Smalls… Whatever!

So I say Bah! Humbug to all those Valentine’s Day grumps. I’m going to take today to giggle a little more than usual, be obnoxiously cute, and have fun! It’s not too late for you to join me. Call up some friends, go buy some candy, and enjoy a fun and funky break in an otherwise mediocre workweek. You don’t need a guy buying you stuff or a girl asking for crap to enjoy the day. Valentine’s Day can be a fantastic way to celebrate loving yourself, loving your life and loving what the future may bring you. So join in the Valentine’s Day Revolution!

The rest of you can just enjoy another, boring Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

