Half-Staff for Whitney?

16 Feb

My state’s mayor, Chris Christie, can be kind of a nut job. He doesn’t put up with crap from anyone, which can kind of be awesome in the world of politics, but it can also be frustrating when he won’t budge on really serious and irrational issues- gay rights, for example. The guys priorities can be totally out-of-wack… which brings me to my issue.

As we all know, Whitney Houston passed away this weekend. Of course I’m sad about the death of one of my favorite musicians, but I still find it a little bit unreasonable that Gov. Christie has decided to keep the flag at half-staff on the day of Whitney Houston’s funeral. That’s right, Chris Christie announced today that in honor of Whitney Houston, the U.S. flag will fly at half-staff in New Jersey on Saturday.

While the flag in New Jersey can legally be lowered at half-staff in honor of a respected state official or citizen, and while Whitney Houston is a New Jersey native, I don’t know if this situation is fitting for the honor. Growing up I was taught that a flag at half-staff was to honor Presidents, Senators, war heroes. People that have helped shape our country, keep us safe, and protect our freedoms. I just don’t see how Whitney Houston fits into the mix of that idea.

Listen, I’m a Whitney girl through-and-through, but I think a half-staff flag should be a sign of honor that is taken very seriously and used rarely. If every celebrity that passed away got the flag at half-staff it would lose it’s meaning and it’s value, and most importantly it’s honor.

What do you think?

One Response to “Half-Staff for Whitney?”

  1. Eye Floaters February 21, 2012 at 1:23 am #

    Best singer ever, enough said!

Leave a Reply

