Why I Need to be More Like Tina Fey

21 Feb

There isn’t anyone better in the world than my homegirl, Tina Fey (Amy Poehler, you’re a close second, but Tina’s a Philly girl so that instantly shoots her to the top of the totem pole…represent!). I grew up watching and idolizing Saturday Night Live, and not much has changed.

Tina Fey represents all that I would like to accomplish in my own career and in my own life: working from the bottom up. Which is why I’ve compiled my list of why she is super fabulous and I need to be like her.

1. She is woman, hear her roar.
Before Tina Fey I had a lot of trouble finding really genuinely funny women on television and in movies. There was some kind of battle between being cute and pretty and being funny. You couldn’t be the pretty protagonist and make a fart joke. I like to think the ladies of late ’90s and early ’00s Saturday Night Live (Amy Poehler, Mya Rudolph and Molly Shannon included) crushed some barriers that were put up to keep women from being hilarious. You can see the shift in female comedic leads in the last decade. Now a woman is funny while being smart, sexy, at times a little gross, kind of disastrous, and gorgeous.

2. She has it all…
Husband, kids, dream career, awesome friends, the respect of everyone, a memoir… this is a woman that- as Liz Lemon says- has it all. Women want to be her, men want their wives to be like her. And yet somehow she still manages to remain seemingly grounded and normal.

3. …and she’s earned it all.
Reading her book, BossyPants, gave me a new-found respect for my girl Tina. She took what she had and she turned it into the life she has today. She didn’t wait around for other to tell her to make the next move. Too often I find myself doubting my potential because other people try to tell me to settle down and wait things out, and I’ve always know that waiting out for the next best offer wasn’t me. Maybe I’m just not patient, maybe people just don’t get me, but Tina Fey has given me the faith to know that I don’t have to listen to them. Girl. Power.

4. She gets to turn into Liz Lemon part-time
30 Rock-ophiles like me love Liz Lemon, but we all know what a totally insane mess it would be to live her life. Still, I think Liz Lemon would be the perfect character to play as an actress. Sometimes it’s fun to be a hot mess. Liz Lemon is hilarious because she can be the absolute definition of a wreck, but it’s still okay! It’s fun to be crazy and chaotic, and it’s even better when you get to transform into a sane and normal person at the end of the day. Plus, she’s got to make out with Matt Damon, Jon Hamm and  Jason Sudeikis… sign me up!

5. She’s got great gams
Homegirl is hot. She’s got awesome legs, arms, style, hair, and general everything. Best of all, she looks like a normal lady. No Hollywood surgeries or over the top outfits required. Get it, girl.

2 Responses to “Why I Need to be More Like Tina Fey”

  1. aims February 21, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    i’ve read multiple interviews with tina and she’s always seemed like such a down to earth celeb! i love how she has that one scar on her face. i remember reading somewhere that she got turned down to play parts because of it, but she was just like OH WELL and kept going for it. so awesome

    how was her memoir? I’ve considered reading it but haven’t yet!

    • ericabauwens February 21, 2012 at 11:35 am #

      It’s so good I have it at my house I’ll lend it to you! She explains the scar in her book too. Oh gosh its so good haha you have to read it!

Leave a Reply

