I haven’t seen any of the Best Picture nominations and I’m not ashamed.

24 Feb

So the Oscars are upon us. I know some people are planning parties and checking out the movies that are nominated but I am not. That’s because almost every movie nominated is foreign to me, and I have no shame in admitting that. I have not seen any of the movies nominated for Best Picture in 2012, and honestly I don’t plan to.

Obviously movies are expensive, and living on a shoestring budget while saving up for a car and an apartment gives me plenty of reasons to avoid the theatre, but that’s really not it. When it comes to movies and television I have a belief that if it ain’t broke, I won’t fix it. I have watched “Baby Mama,” “Elf”  and “50 First Dates” so much that I literally mouth my way through them. The same thing applies to all 30 Rock, Parks and Recreation and Arrested Development. I’m sure you’re thinking ‘Oh Erica, she’s just saying that for dramatic effect.’ I’m not.

The idea of seeing a new movie or television show exhausts me. I get way too invested in things, emotionally and literally. So when I prepare to watch something new I also have to prepare myself mentally to make that show a permanent part of my watching schedule. I have to plan my time around nights when the show comes on, or I have to then start researching blogs, screen shots and when that movie will hit Netflix. I react way too much to the emotional moments of television. I can’t even watch Curb Your Enthusiasm anymore because I get so nauseously embarrassed every time Larry David tries to have a conversation with anyone. During those tense action scenes in movies I close my eyes and pray for closure. Watching something new to me is more like picking out a new puppy. Am I ready for a new commitment?

Let’s use “Inception” as a shining example. My boyfriend had to drag me out to see it, even though every single person on the planet said how good it was. It wasn’t that I didn’t think I would like it, it was that I feared I would love it. And I did. So now every time it comes on HBO,  guess what I do? Do you know how long “Inception” is!? Really freaking long! There goes my Saturday. Thank god I hated “Avatar” or I would have no personal life whatsoever.

I know this is entirely crazy. I know. But it’s who I am. I care about the story too much, way too much, and there’s nothing I can do about it. So good luck to all the Oscar winners on Sunday. I won’t be watching, as I have to re-start my marathon of “Family Guy” online.

Leave a Reply

