Am I the only one that hates All-Star weekends?

25 Feb

The NBA All-Star weekend is upon us and I can’t stand it. It’s pretty much how I feel about every professional sports’ All Star game. They are the worst and I don’t understand why everyone loves them so much.

Every time an All-Star game or event comes around I try my best to get excited about it, which is why I settled in to watch the BBVA Rising Starschallenge last night with

Oh what's that, 76ers' Evan Turner? You dunked at the game last night? Oh what a surprise...

Alex and a Slurpee. None of my other friends wanted to watch it, and I’m pretty sure my Slurpee hated it because it seemed to melt faster than usual. I can’t say I blame them. When a game ends 146-133, you know you’re watching a snoozefest.

It’s pretty ridiculous to call last night’s game a “challenge”. It should be something like a “scrimmage” or a “pile-o-crap.” The only highlight of last night was that I got to see me some Shaq, the secret love of my life. The rest of what I watched was a bunch of guys lightly jogging between nets, then slamming on the basket like they were Harlem Globetrotters while any defense tucked their arms tightly to their sides and stepped back (note: the Harlem Globetrotters are performers… they are fake). No pressure or heat, no angry coaches yelling, no audience cheering… nothing that makes sports fun!

It’s not just the NBA All Star weekend that I can’t stand, it’s every celebrity All Star game. They’re not fun to watch, ladies and gentlemen. ESPN and other sports networks just try to tell us they are to sell t-shirts. By the time this game ends I always end up feeling completely bored and begging for the regular season to come back on.

I understand why players would tread so lightly on these games. What’s the point in playing hard and risking an injury on a game that means absolutely nothing? I get that, but if everyone understands that then why waste a full weekend so famous athletes can play with their friends on camera?

Yeah, I’ll complain, but there’s nothing I can do! So I guess I’ll settle in and watch the dunk contest tonight and I’m sure in upcoming sports I’ll be there watching again. It could be worse…

I could be watching “Whitney.”

One Response to “Am I the only one that hates All-Star weekends?”

  1. aims February 25, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    awww shaq is really just a big teddy bear at heart

Leave a Reply

