I Don’t Understand Dubstep

29 Feb

Maybe I’m too old for my age, maybe I’m just not cool, but I cannot for the life of me understand what dubstep is. I know that it is music and I know that it’s popular, but I don’t understand why.

I had hidden my complete lack of knowledge for a long time, until one day

Oh for Pete's sake.

my boyfriend mentioned it. Then, my 2 million questions came flooding out of my mouth:

What is it? Who likes it? Who’s that guy with the bad haircut? How is it different from anything else they play at a club? Do people actually pay to go to concerts? Why is it so loud and thump-y? Why’s that guy have a mouse mask on his head? What is with people!?

I know I sound like a crazy old lady, but that music is straight up crazy to me. A friend tried to tell me that “it’s all about the bass in your face.” Is that why people go to concerts to listen to a guy put songs together?

No disrespect but… I just don’t get it. Maybe when I was younger and more prone to craziness I would like this more, but nowadays I’m waking up 8 a.m… I don’t have the energy to understand dubstep!

Leave a Reply

