Super Easy, Super Fast Craft: Mr. Kate Scarf

29 Feb

Today is Leap Day, so imagine my horror when I opened my closet to find that I did not have a single piece of yellow or blue clothing to wear to work! I would have gotten poked in the eyes, Leap Day William would have been ashamed, and I certainly wouldn’t have gotten anything from his bucket of sweets before he went back into the Marianas Trench (if you’re questioning anything I just said, just click the “Leap Day William” link)!

After some more digging, I decided I had no choice but to DIY my Leap Day attire. So I turned to one of my favorite crafting and style bloggers, Mr. Kate, for inspiration.

I’ve made a t-shirt scarf before, but obviously I needed one in yellow for today, so I whipped up this 10 minute scarf last night before bed! It’s super simple and you only need a few  supplies: an unused t-shirt, scissors and a scrap of fabric about 8 inches long. If you want, you can even use the scraps from the t-shirt you work with, so the scrap isn’t 100 percent necessary. Can’t be any simpler.

A few months ago I found a deal at one of the craft stores by me on t-shirts, so I bought a ton and have been holding onto them for crafting purposes, but you could also use a junky old shirt you don’t wear anymore. I’ve seen this craft done using shirts with prints on them and that looks really cool, but obviously it wouldn’t fit my leap day need so I grabbed my yellow t-shirt.

First thing’s first: cut off the hemline at the bottom of the shirt and cut off just below the armpit part of the shirt (P.S. I hate the word armpit and I’m mad that I had to write it… twice). You’ll be left with a rectangular loop of fabric. You can ditch the other parts of the shirt, or save the top part to use later on.

Take your rectangle and cut about a one inch strip of fabric from the bottom of one of the connected ends (where the shirt would sit on your side) up to about one inch before the end of your other connected end. Definitely check out the photo, it’s a little hard to explain, but it’s easy when you get going. This craft is not for the perfectionist. The cuts don’t need to be perfect. The first time I did this I used a ruler, and then realized it was pointless. To get a general inch, I use my “rule of thumb.” An inch is sort of kind of the size of the top of your thumb to it’s knuckle. If you really need to measure an inch out for this project, just use your thumb!

Continue cutting strips until you’re out of space, Making sure you leave about an inch at the end of your t-shirt. You want all of the strips to still be connected at the end. When you’re done it will kind of look like a hula shirt for a really tall baby or something. Now hold each strip at both ends and lightly tug on the strip. The harsh edges you get from cutting it will curl in, so that each strip looks like a long, skinny cylinder. The photo below shows the top half after I pulled the loops, and the bottom half before. Definitely check out the Mr. Kate video below for any questions. You don’t need to pull hard, and if you have strips that are skinnier than others pulling hard might actually lead to breaking, so be careful!

Now that all your strips are pulled and looking svelte, take the section that hasn’t been cut, open it up (kind of like you were putting it on as a t-shirt). Take your scarf while it is open (see photo) and just bunch it together. What will happen is the strips that you cut and tugged on will open up turn into your scarf, and the uncut piece will just be a small section on the scarf. Use your scrap of fabric to wrap the uncut area together, so that it doesn’t open up while you’re wearing it and so that it doesn’t stick out in the middle of nowhere. I used a blue t-shirt from my last t-shirt scarf (for Leap Day’s sake!), but you can use whatever you want! Yarn, leather (last scarf I made I used a leather strap from an old boot I had), ribbon, or a piece of scrap from your t-shirt so that it doesn’t stand out.

And voila! I recommend you check out Mr. Kate’s video below and her post for a full explanation. I wasn’t about to make a video, because quite honestly I lost my camera charger and my camera was on the verge of death, and as I mentioned I  was just about to go to bed, so there was no way I was taking a picture of myself looking as I did. Plus, Mr. Kate is much cuter and quirkier than me, so I’m pretty sure you would enjoy it more if you watched her!

Leave a Reply

