Justin Bieber is 18 and It’s Kind of Weird

1 Mar

Last night as I was going to bed I saw a Twitter post declaring that Justin Bieber had officially turned 18 today, on March 1. Then someone else asked why it was typical for guys to get all hot and bothered when a female celebrity turned 18, and why ladies didn’t respond the same way to male celebrities. It really got me thinking about it. Is this some kind of weird double-standard?

I’ve known plenty of guys my age who got a little over-excited when Miley Cyrus and Selene Gomez turned 18.Even the media goes bonkers over 18-year-old girls. When Dakota Fanning became of age Cosmopolitan magazine

Seriously, how is this little kid 18!?

published a photo of her in bunny ears with a caption that read “Two years ago this would have been cute. Now it’s hot.” I have yet to hear about anyone react to Justin Bieber’s adulthood in such an off-putting, creepy manner.

Why is a hot celebrity or person turning  18 such a turn-on to men, but so cliche to women? I guess society kind of explains it: when a man dates a younger woman, it’s viewed as a status symbol and an accomplishment, but a woman with a younger man is deemed a “cougar,” an old bag on the prowl for younger meat. So by assumption it is more acceptable for a man to view a younger woman sexually than the other way around. But still, I don’t think there are many closeted women who are secretly in a tizzy over an 18-year-old Biebs. It’s just not something that is attractive to a woman.

When I think of an 18-year-old I think of a little boy still. Bieber’s a kid, (and not just because the guy looks like he’s freaking 12) and just because his age has changed the fact still remains that he’s kind of still a little boy. So how does this switch change in men’s minds that instantly causes them to drool as their tongues roll onto the ground? What’s in that number that makes men go bonkers?

Of course as a woman I’ll never understand men, and I somehow doubt I’ll find a man who would be able to explain this complex to me, but either way, happy birthday Bieber!

Leave a Reply

