It’s time to step up our game

7 Mar

Ever since I was young I’ve tried hard to be as involved in the conflicts of Africa as I could. In high school my Literature of the Holocaust class raised over $5,000 to help provide the refugee camps of Darfur with clean drinking water. Entering college and being preoccupied with being in college definitely distracted me from something that used to be very important to me, and having very little money for the last decade has made it more difficult to donate.

This video made me remember that while I was busy sleeping in and drinking, children were dying at the hands of monsters. The world is a scary place when we take the time to step outside of our bubble, but we can help!

This grassroots movement aims to arrest Joseph Kony by the end of 2012 and help put an end to child soldiers in Uganda. It’s driven entirely by us, the people with a voice, and by social media.

Check out the video, and most importantly share it! You may be as broke as I am, but we can let those that influence our media hear this message and help do something to stop it. So let’s use the sites that we are already glued to all day, every day to save lives!

Leave a Reply

