Product Review: Sally Hansen Salon Effects

14 Mar

I have wanted Sally Hansen’s Salon Effects nail polish strips since I’ve discovered them. I have this bad habit of painting my nails at night, then accidentally falling asleep while waiting for them to dry so I wake up with once-pristine nails covered in smudges and lines where my hair has pressed against them. These stick on nail polish strips could solve that problem. They dry instantly leaving you with a really neat design you could never do yourself.

The problem? They are pretty expensive. I couldn’t bring myself to spend $10 for a product I would only end up using once for maybe a week. So I got savvy this weekend and went clearance hunting at Ulta where I found markdown nail strips from Valentine’s Day styles. A lot of them were tacky hearts and “Love” in comic sans over and over again, but I did find a sharp mix or red, pink and plum color blocks for $5, and I snatched them up really quick.

I was so excited about these things that I peeled all of my nail polish I had on completely off on the drive home. I feel like it’s pretty hard to mess up putting the strips on, you stick them on and press them down,then file off at the end of your nail. Trust me, I’m a total klutz and it was easy for me so you know it was good. When I put them on they looked cute! I was excited to have a really cool design that I didn’t have to spend 2 hours on. Plus at the end I had 5 extra stick-ons to hold onto, which would look cute on a single finger with some nude or red polish on all the others.

And then I went out.

I was heading to my friends house for a party, so I stopped at the liquor store and then sat in the car with Alex for 45 minutes on the way to her house. In that time I managed to get three big chips on the tips on my nails. By the end of the night, which consisted of a lot of sitting around with some beers catching up, not arduous things like building a new house or something, all the nails on my right hand had some chip or another. Frustrating? Oh yeah.

At least with real nail polish I could go ahead and touch it up, but this was different. As the days wore on I realized how much I missed real nail polish. The Salon Effects stick-ons are much shinier than polish and end up looking much more artificial, pretty much like stickers on your nails. I was starting to be a little embarrassed, too, at how obviously fake the design was. It just looked lazy. What really drove me crazy was the edges around my cuticles. They all sort of buckled up a little bit, just enough for a person like me to notice and sit around pulling at all day.

I kept them on my nails for five days. That way I figured I was getting $1 use a day out of them and it wasn’t a waste. But today they ended up in a nice little pile of sticker paper on my desk. As cute as the design was, and as easy as it was to use, I don’t think I’ll end up buying these again, and I definitely won’t pay full price for them. Maybe if I had a special occasion, but I’m not going to any balls or weddings or anything anytime soon. If you’re like me, and you can’t help but pick at your nails when your bored or nervous, these are torture. It’s easier just to set a half hour aside and paint your nails yourself.

One Response to “Product Review: Sally Hansen Salon Effects”

  1. Jen March 14, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    I bought some from 5 Below – For about 2 bucks. They were zebra stripes with rhinestones on them. I used them to decorate my nails for a wedding I went to in August. They are easy to apply, and if you can keep them from peeling off while you file the excess its awesome. The wedding was outdoors and it was HOT HOT HOT. I found the heat helped to wilt them and they were literally just falling off. What a waste of life these things are.

Leave a Reply

