Lottery Madness

30 Mar

The Mega Millions jackpot is up to a whopping $640 million right now. So naturally everybody everywhere is going completely and totally nutso. The grocery store had a line roped off last night for people buying tickets for tonight’s drawing and I can only imagine what convenience stores and Shop Rites all over the area must be like right now.

It brings me back to my high school days working as a cashier at Rite Aid… ahhh the not-so-glory days. At some point in my time there the Mega Millions went up to around $800 million and I had the unfortunate task of working there on the night the lottery dropped. Oh the madness, the insanity, the crazy amounts of money wasted on these poor dreams. People lined up and literally wrapped around the store until 8 p.m. when the lottery closed, buying $50 and even $100 worth of tickets, while I stood there pushing the same button over and over again, asking “cash or annuity, cash or annuity.” You bet I called up my friends when I got done my shift and made fun of all those nut jobs for days and days. The fact is that in my three years at Rite Aid the most money I ever saw come from any lottery ticket was about $100. And that was from a scratch off. You just don’t win.

Still while I was in the grocery store last night, staring at all those people, in the midst of my judgement my eyes flashed to the money on the lottery sign. There was so much of it, so so much.  I need so money for so many things, and there it is, just enticing me. So much money. How could it hurt to buy just one… oh no, I’m getting sucked in! I can’t avoid it! Someone help!

And that’s how I ended up with four lottery tickets for tonight’s Mega Millions lottery drawing.

Leave a Reply

