Not Worth the Money: China Glaze Magnetix Polish

31 Mar

A month or so ago I found this really interesting nail polish in Ulta from China Glaze called Magnetix. Basically it was advertised as a nail polish that, when met with a special magnet, would create really unique patterns on the wet nail polish. I instantly though, “oh yeah, I want that,” but it was $10 for the polish and an additional $10 for the magnet and I didn’t feel like spending that much on a product I had never heard of before. So, being the frugal style hound that I am, I went trolling on the Internet for a good deal.

I found the polish for $4 and the magnet for about the same price, but with shipping it came to a whopping $15. And then I played the waiting game.

Don't mind the cuticle mess, I was rushing!

When I got my Magnetix polish and magnet I was so excited that I ripped open the package next to my dad and tried it out on my already-painted nails. The first two fingers I did (see the photo on the left) worked! Basically what you do is paint the polish on and then quickly hold the desired pattern over the polish for 10 seconds. I did the starburst and the kind of chevron pattern thing, and while I did hit the first nail with the magnet I still saw really interesting patterns.

Naturally my next move was to run upstairs, wipe all of the polish off my nails, and paint all of my nails with a pattern, which I decided was going to be the starburst. I was already planning on what I would say on here, how much I loved it and how great it looked. But then I started hitting snags.

The next round didn’t work at all. They all remained blank. Then I realized that hitting the magnet against my nail had become an actual issue with every nail. You couldn’t really avoid it, and it was so frustrating.

I tried over and over again over the course of a few days, but never got a matching pattern that worked for all of my nails. So I’ve ditched it into the bottom of my polish box to come across another day.

Overall I wouldn’t suggest this product to anyone. It’s really expensive and doesn’t give you a really great result. Plus, the colors are super glittery and all very dark, which don’t really work for someone like me who has to show up to work in an office with a bunch of adults 5 days a week. Once I get over my frustration of it I might try applying it to one nail and leaving the rest neutral, but it’s definitely not my style for a full set. If you’re up for spending three hours painting your nails, give it a try, if not, don’t waste the money.

One Response to “Not Worth the Money: China Glaze Magnetix Polish”

  1. aims March 31, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    gah its ashame they didn’t work the second time, the patterns look really fun!

Leave a Reply

