The Fat Model

6 Apr

I just read an article about a model, Lizzie Miller who, at a size 10-12, was recently told she was too fat to model plus size clothes. Her photo appeared in Glamour Lizzie Millermagazine and when I saw it all I could think was…

“Uhhh… what?”

The photo here is the one that ran in the magazine. That girl is too fat to model plus size? Really? I mean, seriously? Give me a minute, let me just get over the general confusing shock of this issue.

Ever since I was young I’ve realized that there has been some body-related issues in the fashion world that just don’t add up. I remember going to the mall with a friend who had seemingly shot up overnight to about 5’10” and walking out with her in tears because almost no jeans in normal clothing stores would fit her frame. That same friend would walk into a doctors’ office and be told she was “too skinny.” How does that add up?

And how does a girl as beautiful as Lizzie Miller get told she’s too fat to model? After all the years of designers and models campaigning against eating disorders and unhealthy lifestyles, how does a healthy girl like Lizzie get turned away? It’s not like this is something people haven’t been talking about. Magazines and designers everywhere talk about promoting healthier body images, but when their new spring lines come up there are the same bony chicks modeling the clothes.

So thanks, Glamour, for pointing out this atrocity to me, but until you actually suit up and start putting normal sized girls in your features, I’m not too fond of supporting your mini-campaigns. I do support Lizzie Miller, though, and confident, healthy girls like Lizzie Miller. Because the world needs more people like her to tell all those designers and magazines that they’re crazy.

Get it girl.

One Response to “The Fat Model”

  1. awkwardcelebrity April 6, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    More women in the US can relate to her body. I’d rather see clothes modeled on a realistic body so I have a better idea of how it will fit on me. Honestly, I don’t consider her fat. I consider her… well normal in comparison to most women that I see today in real life. To bigger women calling her fat is insulting.

Leave a Reply

