What Megan Fox Has Taught Me

13 Apr

…Wow I honestly never thought I would be creating a post about Megan Fox, let alone about her life lessons. I’m just not a fan, mainly because I’ve never seen any of her movies (seriously, Transformers just sounds terrible to me) and know nothing about her besides the fact that she’s hot.

But then I stumbled on this TODAY article and watched her Jay Leno interview regarding her tattoo removal, and I’ve come to sort of respect the girl!

Again, this may just me not being “cool,” and I’m expecting a complete backlash from my many tattooed friends, but I feel like a lot of adults my age have made terrible choices in getting tattoos. They took a trend and one of their dumb, youthful hobbies and covered their wrists and collarbones and backs with cheaply designed little knick knacks.

The fact is that we change. If I had the legal choice to go and get a tattoo at 16 I would without a doubt be covered in Green Day quotes and pictures of Billie Joe Armstrong. Now when I think about it I get chills. I could have really done some serious damage to my skin all in the name of something I really liked at one point in my life.

Megan Fox says it well here (and this was taken straight from the article linked above):
“I was stubborn and I thought that I would love it forever, or that it would be like a book of my life, all the things that I loved when I was younger,” Fox says. “And it’s not that at all.”

What it really becomes is a constant reminder of a poorly thought out  hobby you had once. I think the evidence that tattoos are a bad idea is that they are really only “cool” for people of my age group. If you’re any older it’s kind of seen as trashy, when in reality I believe that if you really want a tattoo you should wait several years before getting one. If it’s going to be on your body forever then what does two or three years matter? If it is something you need to do right away, then maybe it is something you won’t want later on.

I still haven’t decided if I’ll get a tattoo, but I know that it will take serious thought. I’m not going to get anything slapped on my body this week, or this year even. I think tattoos can be really beautiful, when done correctly and for the right reasons. But when done on a whim to show off a hobby? That is just an embarrassment to my age group.

2 Responses to “What Megan Fox Has Taught Me”

  1. Sara Meneely April 13, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    I think an excellent extension of this topic could talk about Megan Fox comparing her boss (director Michael Bay of Transformers) to Hitler – subsequently she was fired from the franchise and has sort of had to rebuild her career since…….anyway, bad idea for Megan but a great teaching moment 🙂

  2. J. R. Whitener April 16, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    Tattoos can be beautiful and enduring, if you put thought and money into it. I admire my brother-in-law’s tattoos, artful messages of his sentiment that they are. But he’s spent a pretty dime and countless hours in the shop and under the needle.

    Unfortunately for Megan she’s had some interviews that were less than flattering and she has been relegated to the sex symbol only. Best sharpen the mind along with the abs.

    The first Transformers was good fun; the robot and human characters alike sympathetic and engaging. It wasn’t deep, but it wasn’t bad either. The rest of the franchise are sins against humanity.

Leave a Reply

