The Girl That Didn’t Win a Pulitzer Prize

16 Apr

…That’s me. I know, guys, shocking, I know. That video I posted about the penguins on an airplane at least deserved some recognition… but somehow I’ll get over it.

In all seriousness Pulitzer time has always been something I’ve admired. Even as a kid in the library my weird little mind would take me directly to Pulitzer Prize winners before anything else. When I would write short stories in class I would imagine that shiny gold sticker stamped over the corner of my story

Not mine.

about *NSYNC or Crazy Bones or whatever it was I was in love with at the time.  This year the Philadelphia Inquirer by me has had some winners of their own, which is very exciting because Philadelphia is better than everywhere else in the world.

Having winners so close to me also makes me wonder if I’ll ever get the chance to do something that monumental. I mean, it’s a big deal. It’s what every writer that has had something published aspires to earn; basically a big shiny medal that says “You Da Best.”

I hate to toot my own horn, but I know I’m pretty good at what I do. The thing that concerns me is that I don’t think I’m motivated enough to earn what these guys have earned, which I think can be the case for a lot of people in a million different careers. Entry level can kind of suck. Doing the bottom rung work all day, not earning any money for it, and not getting much credit: that’s pretty much entry level in a nutshell. And I think that kind of kills my motivation to go forward and do more. I guess that’s what makes it easy for people to settle into a career they don’t love and lose sight of bigger goals. But there’s still that little twang of jealousy every time I hear of Pulitzer Prize winners, so maybe hope isn’t completely lost.

Maybe in a few years I’ll be celebrating with my own gold sticker on my own children’s book for little nerds like my childhood self to pick up. But this year, I think I’ll just go through the pages of this blog, watching videos of talking animals and pictures of cute animals.

2 Responses to “The Girl That Didn’t Win a Pulitzer Prize”

  1. Megan Crayne Beall April 16, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    You’ll get ’em next time, haha 🙂 But seriously, don’t stop working hard and entering your writing. You’ll really never know if you don’t try!

  2. Cassie April 16, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    I hope you get to celebrate that gold sticker (on your book) and medal (around your neck) at some point. I have the same dreams. 🙂

Leave a Reply

