National Princess Week: Ariel

24 Apr

Happy Princess Week, everyone! I don’t really know why it’s National Princess Week, but obviously I love it.

To celebrate I’ve decided to piece together items that I think my favorite princesses would wear and own out and about town today. My first pick? Ariel, of course! I feel like she automatically takes the cake for best Disney princess out there, mainly because she’s just the best and she gets to be a mermaid half the time and a princess the other half.

So here are my Ariel picks. Very natural and fresh, and perfect for a summer night out at the shore with your Eric!

Broken-in Straight Khakis
Gap, $49.95
Trust me, I’m just as depressed as you that I don’t have fins. And, yes, at 22 years of age when I still squeeze my feet together and swim like I have fins when no one is watching me at the beach. We as fin-less humans can never be as amazingly wonderful as Ariel  (unless there’s a surgery I don’t know about…) but that doesn’t mean you can’t dress like her!

I buy all my khaki pants from Gap. They come in lengths which is perfect for the 99 percent of women that somehow don’t fit in that annoying “Average” category, they don’t stretch out, and they last forever. So yeah, they may not be fins, but they’re still pretty fantastic.

Strapless Top
Victoria’s Secret, $24.50
This purple top is just the right color to match Ariel’s sea shell bra, but you most likely won’t get really weird stares if you wear this in public. Victoria’s Secret makes some really great quality tops and blouses available online, and they are always on sale or available for some deal. Best of all, this shirt has a built-in bra, which might help you avoid that annoying strapless shirt/dress habit of having to yank the top of every two minutes, so often that it just makes your shirt totally unattractive. Yeah, that’s the reason I hate wearing strapless anything too. The jeans and top combined are so fun and funky, really out-of-the-ordinary in a good way. Like our favorite mermaid!

Starfish Hair Clips
Etsy, $22.50
I have been starfish obsessed over the last few months, and I’ve just been sitting waiting quietly through the spring until I can pounce at the opportunity to wear some myself. I love the way these starfish clips sit in this model’s hair, but if you think I’m about to spend $22 on hair clips you are crazier than Ursula. Craft stores like A.C. Moore and Michael’s sell starfish in bags for $2-$3 in all shapes and sizes. Take those, go buy some bobby pins that match your hair color, and hot glue the starfish to the bobby pin. It’s as simple as that! Ariel was always collecting knick knacks and trying to be resourceful, and seeing as this is National Princess Week why not live like her?

“Little Mermaid” Braided Multicolor Bracelet
Disney Couture, $60
Disney Couture is this fantastic company that makes higher end jewelry basedentirely around Disney princesses and Disney characters. This bracelet is particularly fantastic. I have been seeing gold chain linked bracelets with strings woven into them all over Pinterest lately, and I’ve been totally obsessed ever since. As soon as I saw the bright colors I started humming “Under the Sea,” I can’t help it, the whole bracelet is so sunny and cheery! But the best part of this bracelet is, without a doubt, the little Flounder chain. Who isn’t completely and totally in love with Flounder? I mean, come on, look at that little face!

Metallic Sandals
Old Navy, $18.94
Yes, those are metallic starfish with rhinestones on those flip flops. And yes, I am freaking out as much as you are! A month or so ago I saw these Miu Miu seahorse and crab sandals that I fell in love with, but since I don’t have $950 to spend on a pair of sandals (I’m sorry… who thinks they can charge almost a grand for sandals? Seriously? You know what you could do with that much money? So many more beneficial things than wear sandals.) I just stared from afar. Fortunately, my favorite store, Old Navy, makes a more-sanely priced version, perfect for all the land-locked mermaids like me.

Coral Bib Necklace
Coach, $298
Obviously no one I know is about to drop $300 on a necklace, but it is so perfect that I couldn’t resist. Besides, Ariel is a princess, so I’m sure she could shell out a few bucks on this splurge. Plus, Coach has a ton of sea-inspired pieces in all of their collections right now that are moderately more affordable, like a single coral disk necklace for $128 and a shell and rhinestone chain for $88. The shell necklace is the perfect gift for any Prince Charmings out there that might happen to be reading my blog and need to find a gift to get me for our anniversary gift… I mean… what?

Leave a Reply

