National Princess Week: Jasmine

25 Apr

Who didn’t want to grow up in Jasmine’s palace? I would have had no problem hanging out with my pet tiger and my weird, bearded dad in the Taj Mahal shuttin’ down suitors left and right.

When I was picturing what Jasmine would wear today, I definitely pictured something a little on the risky side. I mean, she’s kind of a badass chick, am I right? Definitely one of the toughest Disney princesses out there.

Mini Dress
American Apparel, $40
Homegirl definitely needs a kick into the modern world. Parachute pants? Even with so many vintage trends thriving right now, no one can rock those again. Like I said, I think Jasmine’s a risk taker. She’s not afraid to kick butts to get to her dream guy, and she definitely helped save the day when Jafar went all nutso. She walks around in shoulderless crop tops while a bunch of suitors are dragging their tongues behind her with no shame. So obviously she would have the hootspa to rock such a sexy dress.

Jasmine would be that girl that you walk past that is super hot and super confident and she knows it and so you do you and you can’t help but hate her a little for it. But it’s okay, because she’s Jasmine and she’s awesome.

Gold Belt Buckle and Accessories
Macy’s, $27.99
Some big, gold accessories are more than necessary for this princess. Bordering on the edge of gaudy? That’s Jasmine to me. I fell in love with this belt buckle when I saw it. A perfect accessory right at the top of her waist where the light blue meets the darker blue in that dress. The pattern reminded me of the design of the royal palace, with a clean design that formed something really beautiful.

Jasmine is a girl about town, and she needs something that screams “Arabian Night.” Pair this with some big gold hoops, bangles and layered gold necklaces and you’ve got a pretty sexy day-to-night outfit

Metallic Wedges
Jennifer Lopez for Kohl’s, on sale! $44.99
You’re not going to see Jasmine in a coat and UGGs anytime soon. She’s a summer girl with some mighty fine summer style. And these sandals scream hot and sunny.

Let me just say that I am completely obsessed with these sandals (which is hard for me to admit since I can’t stand Jennifer Lopez). I think I might need them. They’re the perfect color to match with a million things, and they’re sexy without going trashy, which is pretty hard to come by in cork wedges. A great little pinch of metallic for any outfit without looking too flashy.

Tiger Purse
Michael Kors, $178
You’ve got to represent everyone’s favorite tiger Rajah right? I was surprised by how hard it was to find tiger print anything. Apparently cheetahs are cooler or something… whatever.

I have wanted one of these Michael Kors totes for forever. Chic and practical and totally wonderful. Plus, tiger print? Sign me up! It’s the perfect bag for transitioning from spring to summer, and maybe even the fall if you’re feeling dangerous.

Rajah would approve.

Leave a Reply

