National Princess Week: Kate Middleton

28 Apr

It all comes down to my main princess, the only living, breathing princess of my posts: Kate Middleton.

Last spring, just before I graduated from college, my boyfriend and I stayed up to watch the Royal Wedding on April 29. Unfortunately, as much as I fought I ended up passing out about 2 minutes before the big, famous kiss at Buckingham Palace, but I got to see the glamour of the entire wedding. Kate Middleton’s wedding style stuck with me. Elegant and timeless. On a day when literally the entire world was looking at one misstep to continuously repeat all over the tabloids and she got it perfect. She didn’t miss a beat. And she still hasn’t. I love this girl. I love her style. She is the perfect princess.

Ronni Nicole Dress
Kohl’s, on sale! $54
When I was looking for a dress for my Kate inspiration my mind went right to her engagement photos. She had on a beautiful blue dress, similar to the one here but much more expensive.

The Duchess of Cambridge has the most perfect body in the world. It’s not even fair. She gets the prince and the body? Come on, universe! Anyway, in almost every dress I’ve ever seen her in she finds a way to accentuate the thinnest part of her waist, then has the bottom  hem flow out widely. And I don’t know if I’ve ever seen her wear something sleeveless. Pretty much the exact same shape as the dress here. I don’t know if I could ever wear a dress like this; I’m pretty sure you have to have a damn-near perfect body to do it, but I can dream right?

Diana’s Engagement Ring
Amazon, $49.99
Since Will and Kate got engaged I have come close to buying this ring or one of the other million replicas available online way too many times. I really need to own it. Walk around with this giant rock, and when no one is looking slip it on my left hand ring finger and pretend that I’m a soon-to-be-princess. Don’t pretend that you don’t want to do that too. I respect the princess like crazy, because she knows exactly what to do in her situation. She is the next big thing in the media, while trying to balance pleasing her royal family and pleasing the public who is still madly in love with her husband’s late mom, who her in-laws weren’t too crazy of. Can you spell soap opera? Having lived in England I can tell you that the British press is totally ruthless. Kate hasn’t missed a beat. She must drive the paparazzi crazy.

Nude Heels
Payless, $29.99
Kate was my inspiration for my nude fashion obsession. She makes conservative and old-fashioned look so good. She has been rocking nude heels like nobody’s business for the last year and I needed to get in on that action.

Since then my life has been nude heels and nude nail polish and non-flashy jewelry and cardigans. I feel like a Republican’s wife sometimes with the crazy amount of neutrals I have filled my life with. But I love it. You can never not feel classy and sophisticated in a pair of nude heels. I might be giving the princess a run for her money, if I do say so myself.

Nude Stockings
Pretty Polly, £5.25
I feel like Kate’s stockings are one of her biggest claims to fame. I remember how crazy people went when she showed up in Los Angeles, the land of all things skimpy, last summer with them on. I, for one, loved it. I am crazy pale, and I don’t tan, so really good stockings add an extra bit of color to my disgustingly pale legs. Anything that gives me an excuse to hide my sheer skin is good for me. These are the stockings that Kate is alleged to wear. The cost comes to about $8 (maybe a little bit more, I’m still used to converting in the year 2009) and best of all, they are actual nylons. If you’re a vintage lover, this website is for you. They have nylons with the seems still stitched up the back of each leg! Not to mention all their other really unique designs.

Sapphire Solitare Necklace
Target, on sale! $31.99
The princess had a very similar necklace to this in her engagement photos, and it’s so fitting of her. Simple, but stunning. Enough to shine in a crowd, but not enough to actually draw a crowd.

Kate proves with almost everything she wears that you don’t need to be glitzy and over-the-top to look phenomenally good. You just need to learn how to rock a few well-selected items. I always try to be inspired by her, which is why she makes the perfect princess to end my princess week with. There’s no better princess out there.

One Response to “National Princess Week: Kate Middleton”

  1. tattlestalesnthings April 28, 2012 at 2:03 am #

    Kate Middleton> Disney Princesses. :))

Leave a Reply

