This New Time Magazine Cover is Really Messing with my Head

11 May

When I first heard that people were upset about the new Time magazine cover (for all those that have somehow not heard of it in the last few days, just look at the giant photo in this blog) I reacted with my standard eye roll. My original impression was that people were just ticked off at seeing a lady’s sideboob on the front of a magazine, and that it was too graphic to display to the public.

I didn’t really think of what might actually be upsetting people about the entire story, because I was too busy being grossed out by young children and their weird habits to really explore this cover further. Plus, I always try to avoid being the person that has to complain about anything media-related, because I deal with enough complaints from readers of my own magazine about crazy, pointless stuff every day.

So I’ve decided, I have no problem with the fact that Time decided to publish this cover or the subsequent story, the fact that they did is awesome and wonderful! I do, however, have a problem with homegirl on the front. The woman that decided it was okay to take her child and stick him in such a personal and controversial position at such a young age without giving him the chance to express how he felt. The kid on the front is only 3, so obviously he would do whatever his mom says is right, but in a few years, when he’s a kid trying to grow up, he’ll be faced with that every day. And no matter how natural this may be to some, to 9-year-old boys it will always, always be a kid kissing his moms boob. And when this kid tries to get his first girlfriend, this will be something they might just remember.

In the article the mom, 26-year-old Jamie Lynn Grumet said:

“”People have to realize this is biologically normal,” she said, adding, “The more people see it, the more it’ll become normal in our culture. That’s what I’m hoping. I want people to see it.””

Exposing your children to benefit your own causes is just plain selfish, and what this mom did in an attempt to gain acceptance for her hippie-dippie beliefs is, to me, selfish. It doesn’t matter how confident you are in yourself or your cause, at the end of the day, as a mother, you should focus on the backlash you are exposing your child to first. Maybe this lady’s cause isn’t as important as a more secure and safe future for her child.

One Response to “This New Time Magazine Cover is Really Messing with my Head”

  1. Jessica May 11, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    I like your take on this… fresh perspective I hadn’t thought about.

Leave a Reply

