Leslie Knope Style

12 May

As all you Parks and Recs fans know, Leslie Knope won her spot on on the City Council this week. So to celebrate I decided to throw together my own Leslie Knope-inspired work style page.

On my first day at my new job I actually went full-Knope. My outfit was completely based on what Leslie might wear. Since I’m not working in an office that requires dress pants and blazers I have since eased up on the fancy clothes, but I still love the way she looks! Cute but professional, serious but a little sassy.

Blazer
Gap, $98
My girl Leslie Knope is notorious for rocking many a blazer in her day. And she looks good doing it. Blazers don’t always have to be stiff and smothering, but they still help you look professional and classy really easily. Even with a pair of jeans you can make an outfit look work-ready with a really nice blazer.

I’m totally obsessed with this blazer, mainly because I’ve never seen a pinstriped outfit for women that I actually like.  But this is right up my alley. So much so that I may or may not have added it to my secret online Gap shopping cart that has been tempting me for days…

Slacks
J. Crew, on sale! $88
As a professional lady surrounded by a bunch of men, this girl needs to suit up a lot. Though she always has the cutest dresses ever outside of work, most of Leslie’s in-work outfits involve some mighty fine slacks.

Now I know what you’re thinking, slacks? Even the word itself it completely terrible. But come on! It’s almost white pants time. Throw this with that blue blazer you’re eyeing up and you’ve got yourself a cute little summer outfit. And if you’re trying to pull a Knope and get your patriotism on? Red shirt, badabingbadaboom. We’ve got the next city counselor on our hands.

Blouse
New York and Company, on sale! $19.99
I have a shirt that’s very similar to this shirt, and the only reason I own it is because when I was looking at it my boyfriend told me that it looked like something Leslie would wear. I didn’t even have to try it on.

Just because a lady is wearing a pant suit doesn’t mean she has to wear the same thing every single time she walks into the office, and Leslie Knope is the perfect example of that. She rocks a lot of flowie-front shirts, and I love it because so do I. They’re comfy and classy, and most importantly, they’re unique! Leslie proves you don’t have to be boring in the office.

Waffle Necklace
TinyHands Jewelry, $28
No matter what is going on, Leslie cannot get enough of her beloved sweets. It’s one of her big struggles, and what gets her through the millions of stressful situations she tends to put herself in. Of all sweets in the wonderful city of Pawnee, she especially can’t get enough of the waffles from JJ’s Diner. The girl loves waffles. It’s kind of her thing. I’m like that with pancakes, actually. So, in one of her many casual acts of adorableness Leslie decided to rock a waffle charm on her necklace in one of this season’s episodes. I loved it, of course, and I loved it even more when I found out I could actually buy that same necklace! And, it’s scented. What!? Shut up, that’s fabulous. I know, right!?

Leave a Reply

