Friday Style: Work to Happy Hour

22 Jun

It’s Friday! And the best part about that? Casual wear at work!

Luckily I work in a creative career that kind of encourages a more relaxed and casual atmosphere, but I love taking the opportunity to work the casual Friday look. I pulled together a style that goes perfectly from Casual Friday to Happy Hour, and I am sharing my secrets with you!

Colored Capris
$24.95 at Target
My newest addiction. I’ve bought too many pairs of colored capris, and I’ve been eyeing up these amazing Target ones lately too. I love colored and black jeans because they can look so cute dressed up, but they can go really casual too. And they are so unbelievably stupid comfortable.

Of course, me being too short to wear normal people clothes means capris are actually full-length pants, so I have to roll them up so they can actually serve their purpose, but I suggest trying a cuff anyway. It looks really cute!

Graphic Tee
$27.99 at Tilly’s
It took me a long time to work up the nerve to wear a graphic tee to work. In fact, today is the first day I’m doing it. I wasn’t sure if it was appropriate, or if I would look stupid. But when used in the right way I think they really work.

First of all, pick the right t-shirt. Don’t go throwing on a shirt with a band name, or some stupid logo, or a picture that might shock/offend/gross people out. And obviously nothing low cut, have some respect girl! I think if you can find the right balance that is more of an art print than a graphic then it can be pulled off really well.

Blazer
$175 at J Crew
The blazer is what makes this entire outfit work appropriate if you ask me. Jeans and a t-shirt are obviously not professional, but when you tie it in with a well-matched blazer it can definitely be done. Cuff the sleeves for a more casual three-quarter style and leave it unbuttoned to show off your shirt.

My blazer was the best buy I’ve made all year, and it may even be worth the splurge of buying something like the one pictured, because it can work in any situation.

Toms
$44.95 at Zumiez
I finally went for the commitment of buying Toms and I couldn’t be happier. They are so comfortable! I thought I would be grossed out wearing sneakers without socks, but they feel more like a pair of socks then an actual sneaker.  I like them for the summer because flip flops do get old, and you can’t go wearing flip flops to work. Plus, they actually help people when you buy them. I mean that’s enough of a reason to spend money for me.

Hoops
$3.80 at Forever 21
You could have rolled out of bed with two black eyes and a missing tooth and with a pair of hoops you instantly look better. They are classy without trying too hard.

If I had a big chunky gold bracelet I would throw that on too, but the search continues for that. These hoops, with a bun and some thick rimmed glasses (yeah I bought rimmed glasses and apparently turned into a hipster overnight. I’m alright with it) finish off the look I was going for perfectly. I feel so cool right now, but we all know the truth.

Leave a Reply

