A Hair Tutorial You HAVEN’T Seen on Pinterest

13 Sep

I am a slave to Pinterest. Especially when it comes to clothes, makeup, nails… things I’m normally mildly clueless about.

If you find me on Pinterest, you will find an entire board dedicated to just hair styles and makeup, mostly I am constantly looking for ways to curl my hair. My hair doesn’t hold a curl. Don’t join the 23 years of hairdressers and friends in a dorm room with an expensive straightener and tell me “I can make it curl, they just didn’t do it right.” You’ll just look silly. It doesn’t curl. It falls in 10 seconds or less.

Out of the beach wave tutorials on my Pinterest, I have actually tried all of them, as opposed to just pinning it and never looking again. Half of them leave my head partially curled, then the rest slumped and weird looking, the other half turn my head into a frizzy nightmare that can’t even look acceptable in a bun.

So I’m sharing with you my beach curls that I’ve been using for years that actually works. And they’re legit, because I actually got this idea from going to the beach! When I had really long hair it would get knotted up from the waves, so I would French braid my hair into two braids before heading out. Then, when it dried I would take it out and have these amazing waves that actually lasted all day. So here is my super easy, super effective curly/wavy hair tutorial for girls who can’t get it right.

1. Add a small amount of product to the bottom half of wet hair. By wet I mean as soon as you get out of the shower. I use Herbal Essences Tousle Me Softly mousse, mainly because it’s crazy cheap. Sure, you can use more expensive products… but why bother? It’s not like I’m styling my hair all the time.

If you dont have any products try adding a few tablespoons of salt to warm water and wetting your hair with that. After all, this is a beach hair inspiration, salt water was kind of what got this idea into my head in the first place.

2. Divide your still wet hair into 2-6 equal parts. The more divisions you make, the tighter the waves will be. I chose six, to get more of a curl and less of a loose wave, but usually I divide it into four. Plus, I always do this at night, right out of the shower and about an hour before I go to bed. That gives me 8 hours for my hair to dry. If you want your hair to stay clean and ready for night time, try doing two parts. The easiest way for me is to split my hair into a middle part like I was making pigtails, then divide each half into their own halves. Tie all of the parts off with their own hair tie.

3. French braid each individual section of your hair. Now here’s the thing: I am completely clueless when it comes to hair. I can do a basic ponytail, I can pin the front back with a bobby pin, and I can french braid. That is all I know how to do. If you are awful at everything like me, I guarantee you that you can learn to French braid your own hair. It is much easier than it looks, and there are 200 tutorials on YouTube and Pinterest. Once you learn a french braid, you can do so so much! Including this tutorial.

When your hair is done all it has to do is dry. When I want this to be clean and ready for the evening I use two braids, and pin the two braids back so that it looks like a neat style on the lower back of my neck that I can wear to work. Plus, once you braid your hair into more than two braids you kind of look like Snoop Dogg… and that’s awesome.

Got my mind on my money and my money on my mind…

4. When your hair is dry, unbraid and voila! It takes about 8 hours for particularly thick hair like mine, but for thinner hair it might take 5-6. No product needed at the end, it should last all day! Below is this mornings’ results, awkward smile and everything! You have to try this out. It’s so easy, especially when compared to all the crazy ideas to get the same results that people put on Pinterest.

 

 

Comment if you have any questions, or if you want to know which tutorials I have tried that have crashed and burned miserably.

Leave a Reply

